How was the power of the shoguns established?

By the 12th century, a specific land tenure system began to take shape in Japan. Large landowners formed their private military units. Those who served in them became vassals of the employer. Usually they received small estates for their service. Thus, a new military estate – the samurai – appeared. The most significant military clans in the then Japan were Taira and Minamoto. Tyra were descended from the emperor Kama, and Minamoto – from the emperor Seyva. And they both multiplied, grew, split into branches, often not supporting each other. But it was precisely between these clans in the middle of the XII century that the struggle for political domination in the country developed. This struggle escalated into a long war that swept the whole country. Initially, Tyra took over, their leader Kiyomori became virtually the ruler of the country. Most members of the Minamoto clan died or were executed (1161-1162). But in 1181, the surviving Minamoto Yoritomo opposed the Taira government. In several battles, Tyr’s troops were defeated, and the clan was almost destroyed. In 1181, Minamoto Yoritomo assumed the title of shogun, i.e. military ruler. In Japan, the regime of the shogunate (bakufu) was established, which existed with short interruptions until 1867. The shogun dynasties and their capitals changed, but the situation remained unchanged: the actual rulers of Japan from 1185 to 1867 were shoguns,

Remember: The process of learning a person lasts a lifetime. The value of the same knowledge for different people may be different, it is determined by their individual characteristics and needs. Therefore, knowledge is always needed at any age and position.