Peace Treaty of Sevres, its results and results

Date: August 10, 1920
Location: Sevres, France.
With whom: Turkey.

• Turkey renounced claims to the Arabian Peninsula (Hejaz) and the countries of North Africa, recognized the British protectorate over Egypt and the annexation of Cyprus;
• Territory of modern Syria and Lebanon → France;
• Territories of Palestine, Trans-Jordan and Mesopotamia → Great Britain;
• Dodecanese Islands → Italy;
• Eastern Thrace, Izmir and Adrianople, the Gallipoli Peninsula and the Aegean Islands (excluding the Dodecanese archipelago) → Greece.
• Constantinople and the zone of the Black Sea straits were declared a demilitarized zone and transferred under international control;
• Turkey recognized Armenia as a “free and independent state”.
• Armenia, Georgia and Azerbaijan had to establish their mutual borders through direct negotiations between these states, and if it was impossible to reach an agreement through the mediation of the allied powers.
• It was also planned to create an independent Kurdistan, the borders of which were to be determined jointly by England, France and Turkey.
The Sevres Treaty, which in fact never entered into force, de jure completely ceased to operate after the revision of its terms at the Lausanne Conference of 1923 (Lausanne Peace Treaty).

Remember: The process of learning a person lasts a lifetime. The value of the same knowledge for different people may be different, it is determined by their individual characteristics and needs. Therefore, knowledge is always needed at any age and position.